Living Without a Salary

How to reduce your expenses, so you can live without a salary!

The Top 10 Luxuries of Life–And They are Free! December 2, 2008


One of the things that people take for granted are the “little things” in life–the things that make life worth living. The things that people wish they could have the time for, yet not actually make time for. Instead, they get hung up on making money and making ends meet. They get stuck in the mindset of trying to make a living that they forget to LIVE. Today, why not take a break from all that stuff, and actually LIVE? I have compiled a list of my personal top ten little luxuries in life that make my life worth living. Compare my list to yours, and see how it stacks up. When you are complete, think about this question: What really is more important–money, or life?

Ready to go? Keep reading…

#10–Making s’mores over an open fire. Okay, this isn’t completely free as you have to buy the supplies to make them. However, it’s one of those low-cost activities that are irreplaceable with money.

#9–Curling up with a great book from the public library. Why bother buying a book you will more than likely read only once? Save the money, and borrow a book from the library. Membership is free…so are the books. Make it a spa-like experience and light candles with your favorite scents. Get in bed, wrap up in your favorite blanket, and enjoy your journey into your imagination.

#8–Clean, cold, crisp well water. Now I realize not everyone can experience this luxury, especially in the cities. I live on the edge of a small town, and am privileged enough to have well water come into my house. However, for a small price, you can have almost the same experience by getting a filter that you can screw onto your faucet, or a filtered pitcher that you can put water in and keep it in the fridge. Either way, clean water is one of those “little things” that we all take for granted in this country, and one that I consider a great luxury of life.

#7–A leisurely stroll in the woods. I love the outdoors, especially trees. I feel at home in the fresh air and woods…so walking in the woods calms me down, and takes away the stresses that the rest of life has handed me. A true luxury for me! Find your luxury outdoors–either in the city or the country.

#6–Uninterrupted sleep. Sleep is one those times that our bodies can repair itself more completely, and when sleep gets interrupted, then the repair processes do not work as effectively as they could. Which leaves you susceptible to illness and disease. Once I got away from a bad situation where my sleep got interrupted for stupid reasons, I have been able to sleep more soundly and more regeneratively than ever before. And a surprising thing happened–one of the hardest things for me was keeping my weight under control. I failed that for many years…now, with uninterrupted sleep every night, I am actually starting to lose weight! If your sleep is being constantly being interrupted, then your body and mind will eventually break down. So, uninterrupted sleep is one of life’s free luxuries.

#5–The love of a loyal pet. Many of you probably already know this, but when you have a pet and you can cuddle with your pet, a sense of calm and peace washes over you. At least, that is what happens with me and my cat. When I am holding her, and she settles down into my lap, there is nothing in the world that can upset me. It’s a little thing that makes all the difference for me.

#4–A stimulating and empowering conversation. If you have ever had one of these with someone you really get along with, then you understand what I am talking about. Even if you disagree with each other, but the conversation is done in a loving and empowering context, then it could be one of the best conversations you have ever had with anyone! I have these with my dad a lot, and after each time, I learn a little more about myself, as I am sure he does about himself.

#3–A natural and uplifting human connection. This is merely a polite way to bring up the romantic luxury of life, if you know what I mean. When you have a truly intimate and natural connection with someone, not even all the money in the world can make you feel this happy. ‘Nuff said.

#2–Allowing your passions to flourish and thrive. When you allow what you are passionate about to come out and thrive, it doesn’t matter how much or how little money you are making. Life should be about making your mark on the world with what you love doing–not by how much money you make.

And the NUMBER ONE luxury in life that doesn’t cost a cent…

#1–Being who you are called to be. For many years, I lived in a pretense about who I was. When I saw the truth about myself, and allowed myself to be who I am, much of my stress seemed to disappear. Everything else about who I am seems to keep falling into place naturally…and it is one of those little things that makes the biggest difference for my life. And money cannot buy this kind of happiness!

There you have it. My top ten list of life’s luxuries that do not cost a cent. (Aside from a couple of things…) When you get away from the consumerism mindset, you can start seeing the luxuries of life for yourself that doesn’t have to cost big bucks…now go back to worrying about money. 🙂

What are your low or no cost luxuries of life? Let me know, and it may end up in a future post, along with your name and website, if applicable.

 

2 Responses to “The Top 10 Luxuries of Life–And They are Free!”

  1. Justin Says:

    Just let me say that I love your blog. I have some ideas though not all are free they are lower cost.

    I have a subscription to netflix for 1dvd at a time unlimited each month. It also allows me to watch stuff online at the netflix site including some of my favorite tv shows that are not anywhere else. Plus there are no late fees, something I always struggled with.

    I also rent movies from the library and know that at least in mpls and st paul, you can rent passes to go different places with your library card. Like some museaums and historical places..some of them are odd but hey it beats sitting at home.

    I read a lot and so I often grab free books off the free book shelf at a bunch of the coffee shops I go to. I also leave books that I cant sell. I also buy and sell books at half price bookstore and though it doesnt have the best rates, it beats having them at home collecting dust.

    I also like savers and goodwill for clothing, books, and random items.

    My sister just told me that if you bring a donation to savers , you get a cupon for 20% off your next visit. In the past my mom has also done Fareshare for reduced priced food.

    Thats all I got for now, but keep writing.

  2. Linda Says:

    I enjoyed reading your list of simple things that make life so sweet. It put me in mind of one of those times for us.

    I had my grandkids staying overnight. We made a camp fire and roasted marshmellows. I had some of those lights like people use when they camp in their travel trailers, I think it was multi-colored plastic owls. Tacky yes, but fun. I strung those up before dark, when we were starting the fire.

    I pulled all the lawn chairs around and we stayed out there for several hours. We watched the fire, ate marshmellows, sang songs and just talked.

    It got later and later and I covered Tiffany, who was probably about 5 or so, up with a cover, but she still didn’t want to leave the fire. She was just really savoring that experience. Believe me that is the exact correct word, savor.

    After she fell asleep we carried her into the house.


Leave a Reply

